My Reflection on 2013

It’s hard to believe that it’s almost 2014 in only one more day! It feels like only yesterday that I was celebrating 2013…As cliche as it sounds time flies by way too fast! Even though I’m only 23 years old and still have many more years in my life, I can honestly say that 2013 was a year of growth and stress for me. I have only lived in Los Angeles for a little over a year, but it feels like so much longer.

In 2013, I was attending FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising) for my degree in Visual Communications. It was honestly a dream come true to be able to attend such a well-known design school in the heart of LA. The school was definitely tough and made me work harder than I ever have before. Some people think because the school is based on fashion that it must be easy, but they are dead wrong. While attending FIDM, it made me realize that it’s about putting the time and dedication into your work because ultimately you want to do something that is going to make you proud and that you want to show to others and be able to use the skills acquired in life for your career. Through the sweat and the tears, I finished and can say that I am a more confident and hard working person because I attended FIDM.

While living in LA in 2013, it was really hard to be away from my friends. Even though, I live with my boyfriend, sometimes a girl just needs her best friend to laugh with and gossip.

Living with Jeff has had it’s ups and down. We aren’t perfect, but I know we’re always there for each other. I love him and appreciate everything he does for us. I hope in 2014, that I can start providing more for him and that our relationship continues to grow and we achieve our goals and dreams.

As of right now, my biggest goal and hope for the new year is  that I find my dream job in fashion. I’m very passionate about visual merchandising, styling, and being in any field that allows me to be creative. Even though we all need money to be successful, I just want to be happy and know that everyday that I go to work that I’m doing something I love.

 

Thanks for reading

 

Leave a Reply

