The Job Hunt

I’ve been applying for jobs for 3 weeks ever since I was laid off from my seasonal job at Sears and I was submitting application way before I was graduated from college. Out of the dozens of applications that I’ve sent off, I’ve only had 2 interviews. What’s wrong with my applications if I can’t even get interviews?!  I’ve been applying through my college’s career services website with my resume and cover letter that has been approved and corrected by the school career center so I know those can’t be the issue. I feel like I’m stuck in limbo. Most jobs have left me feeling over qualified or under qualified…I know, I know I’m in the same boat as thousands of other college grads, but that doesn’t make the waiting process any easier. I’m not a patient person, you know. I was talking to a friend and it took her almost 9 months before she found a job. That’s a long time!!! At this point, I want to fall to my knees and beg employers for a job. It’s so hard to not take it personally, I’m a sensitive person, so each rejection email makes me feel like something is wrong with me.  I know I need to hold on and not lose faith. Believe me, I’m trying my hardest. But for those who are graduating soon, be prepared, because I sure wasn’t.

XOXOXO,

Michele

2 thoughts on “The Job Hunt

  1. It took a little over a year to finally find a job through a temp agency. Then, I was hired by my former high school while I was substituting there. I couldn’t ask for a better opportunity as a Bilingual Tutor. Hang in there. You have what it takes – personality, mindset, and drive. Staples told me I am better off at a corporate level. Thanks for the promotion yet deny in employment? Blogging was my “unemployment” escape. Your time will come. Don’t let it bother you. 🙂

    • I really need to contact a temp agency, I hear that’s a good way to get experience and possibly getting hire with a company. Blogging has become my unemployment escape too and hopefully away to network and meet new people. Thank you for the words of encouragement. It’s very sweet of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

